Code of Ethics Training

Code of Ethics Training Requirement Will Be Three Years Through 2021

At its Nov. 11, 2019 meeting, NAR’s Board of Directors approved a change to NAR’s Code of Ethics training requirement.

Since 2001, REALTORS® have been required to take Code of Ethics training to retain their membership. Originally, the training was required every four years, but in 2017, NAR changed the requirement to every two years. A presidential advisory group (PAG), appointed in 2019, made several recommendations to the NAR Leadership Team. One of its recommendations was to extend the requirement to every three years in order to give members more time to fit it into their continuing education schedule and to give local associations adequate time between cycles to administer the program.

The current Cycle 6 deadline is extended from Dec. 31, 2020, to Dec. 31, 2021. The next cycle (Cycle 7) will begin Jan. 1, 2022, and end Dec. 31, 2024.

Quick Links

REALTORS® are required to complete ethics training within a three-year cycle in order to maintain REALTOR® membership. The training must meet specific learning objectives and criteria established by the National Association of REALTORS®. The current cycle began on January 1, 2019. The deadline for this cycle is December 31, 2021. 

Please note, if you complete your NAR Ethics class online, or through another third party please send your certificate to so we can update our records. 
NAR Code of Ethics Training Cycles:

  • Cycle 6: January 1, 2019 – December 31, 2021
  • Cycle 7: January 1, 2022 – December 31, 2024
  • Cycle 8: January 1, 2025 – December 31, 2027

More Information