Open Houses Permitted Under Level Red Restrictions

IMPORTANT CHANGE TO OUR PREVIOUS MESSAGE: The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) has released an update. Level Red has been modified to specifically provide that open houses are permitted.

November 20, 2020

Per an update from the Colorado Association of REALTORS® General Counsel, Scott Peterson, open houses are permitted as part of the new restrictions in the 15 counties (Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Jefferson, La Plata, Logan, Mesa, Morgan, Routt, Summit and Washington) that have moved to a Level Red classification as of today, November 20. Please note: if conducting an open house, only one household is permitted in the property at a time. 
In-person showings are also allowed, with brokerage office capacity limited to 10% of non-critical staff (i.e. staff that is not directly supportive to the critical business functions). Practitioners are required to follow CDC and CDPHE guidelines while showing homes with buyers (i.e. masks, gloves, physical distancing, etc.).
For more information, please refer to:

DMAR will continue to monitor this situation and is hoping for additional guidance from state agencies specifically addressing real estate activities. We will update members as additional information becomes available.

If you have any questions, please contact DMAR’s Director of Government Affairs, Peter Wall, at 303-880-7405.